What our clients say

Emera Smith services during COVID-19: View our guidelines here

We're very proud of the work we do and the way we do it. It’s important for us to always maintain our philosophy of keeping our clients at the centre of everything we do.

We believe we’re achieving that because many of our clients tell us how they felt about working with us. They comment on our approachable manner, our breadth of expertise and experience, our listening skills and our empathetic approach. 

You can read all reviews here and see what our clients have to say about us.

These reviews have been provided via Google, by email or handwritten and sent to our offices.

Note: we simply share the review as it was written; no change to grammar or spelling errors except where it provides clarity for the message.

15 Mar 2021  Email H.C

I would highly recommend Laura Villemagne-Sánchez at Emera Smith to anyone looking for a specialist family lawyer.  I was at a low point when I met Laura after having been through domestic violence,  a very messy break up and looking at an even messier property dispute.  Laura provided genuine support and practical advice which helped me in a very stressful situation with me ex-partner which had dragged on for far too long.

Laura helped me to  to see what a realistic and fair outcome would be for me in my situation which led to a mutually agreed upon settlement with my ex-partner.  Thanks again for all your help Laura,

08 Mar 2021  Google Daniel S

Emera smith helped me navigate an extremely stressful and emotionally challenging time. I felt supported and confident that I was being represented by an extremely experienced and professional team Whilst they seeked the best legal outcome I always felt through their support and open communication there was a genuine interest in my personal well-being at all times.. Thanks again Laura

11 Jan 2021  Email D.E

I would just like to say that Laura made everything so easy to understand and she really helped ease my mind in such a stressful time. without Laura's advise my situation would have been drastically different. I can't thank her and the team and Emera & Smith enough. 

05 Jan 2021  Google Nadine R

I appreciate all the time and effort Ben and Jodie put in to help me stay informed and get the results that I did. I would recommend Emera Smith family law to anyone who needs an honest and trustworthy law firm. Thank you Ben.

23 Dec 2020  Google Eshwar Krishnasamy

Thank you Mona & Jodie at Emera Smith for your services..... I'll definitely recommend them to friends and family in the future.

09 Dec 2020  Google Joanne M

Ben Smith is an exceptional family lawyer. He not only provides excellent advice based on sound knowledge of family law, he explains things in a way you can understand. I found Ben to be very personable & was one of my main supports through the difficult family breakdown & court process. I trusted Ben’s advice 100% & would highly recommend him.

07 Dec 2020  Email Kyle

I would like to extend my thanks and gratitude to Ben and Emera Smith for your assistance and advice getting me and Rebbeka to this point of freedom from unnecessary concern. There has been a considerable and very notable lift in our spirits and general attitude, a weight lifted from our shoulders and being able to move on without hesitation or fear of what might happen next. I am sleeping better and talking openly about personal matters which is something I have never done.

For you it may just be that you are "doing your job", but I just want to let you know that you make people happy and you should be proud that you have chosen this as part of your life journey.

Thanks heaps, Kyle 

25 Oct 2020  Google David C

Mona and Ben are brilliant to deal with, very professional, caring and solution focussed!

18 Sep 2020  Google Rachelle M

I can not begin to thank Laura and the Team from Emera Smith Family Law. They went above and beyond for me, especially during one of the most difficult times in my life. Laura was so understanding and really explained my options. She was also so accessible and suggested so many helpful resources that assisted me. Definitely recommend this firm.

18 Sep 2020  Email J.F

Thank you for your help and support threw my separation and your team as well, you were all lovely

08 Sep 2020  Google Sharlene K

Emera Smith Lawyers were fantastic in assisting us with our wills. Kerry Ann made it so easy and quick and answered all questions that we had. Very professional and efficient. We would recommend to anyone wanting to get their will sorted.

07 Sep 2020  Google Maria M

Such a great legal service both in Family Law and Wills and Estate Law. Highly recommended for their professionalism and quality in often such difficult circumstances. Thanks to your amazing team!

09 Aug 2020  Google Chanika I

Little did I know at the time when I first met Mona for a ‘little bit of legal advice’ how messy a marriage break-up can actually be! Mona and Mairead were both extremely kind, patient and understanding at a very difficult time in my life. They were knowledgeable and professional and I always felt like they genuinely cared about me and my daughters. Mona’s sensible advice resulted in exactly what I wanted when it came to parenting orders and property settlements. For anyone who is looking for honest and supportive legal advice, I would highly recommend Mona and Mairead.

08 Aug 2020  Google Anne-Marie C

I recently had the pleasure of working with Laura at Emera Smith. Laura made time to see me at very short notice, provided me with plenty of level headed and sound advice, and reduced my panic and stress in the process. I really felt she heard me, and gave me the backing that I desperately needed to put a plan in place and feel less stressed out. Laura spelled out all the processes and made the different pathways I could take very clear, and overall helped make the situation manageable and simple. I would recommend Laura in a heartbeat. Thankyou!

29 Jul 2020  Email MG

It was a week before Christmas when I engaged Mona to work through a separation. It was a very distressing time and Mona promptly made time to see me and outline what the journey ahead would look like. Mona's empathetic and caring nature was evident in all my dealings and she had a pragmatic approach to working through my situation. Mona was professional throughout, responded to my many, many questions and was a much needed support for me at a very challenging time. If you find yourself in the situation of needing family law services, I certainly recommend Mona.

24 Jul 2020  Google Sharon H

Mona,
I just want to say it has been a pleasure having you and your team work through my case, I was at my lowest point in my life not knowing what to expect not only financially but also emotionally.
The very first day I met you, you made me feel like a person and not a client, it was then I realised you were so genuine and so sincere you turned my nightmare around, I’m so grateful and thank you for all you and your team have done not only for me but for my kids you are such an inspiration not only as a lawyer but also as a human being you went above and beyond.
I want to thank you and your team for such an outstanding service. I truly recommend you and your team to anyone who is in need of a good lawyer.
Sarina and kids

24 Jun 2020  Google Mathew Y

Thank you Laura at Emera Smith for being so supportive and understanding throughout my case. You were very professional & made me feel very comfortable through quite a stressful time for me. I felt you always listened & gave great advice. I would definatly refer you and your team to anyone needing a lawyer in the future.

20 Jun 2020  Google Narelle O

Thank you to Ben Smith and the team at Emera Smith who assisted me recently during a difficult process. They were supportive, provided practical advice and responsive. I would recommend them to anyone.

27 May 2020  Google Teresa M

I had mine and my husband's Will done by Kerry-Ann at Emera Smith Family Law.  A seamless and easy process from start to finish.  A pleasant surprise for something I had been dreading - it had been on my 'to-do' list for years.
 
The process was straightforward and Kerry-Ann was professional throughout - we even made a safe trip into the office to execute the docs with Kerry-Ann and Jodi during the lock down.  Very clean and appropriately physically-distanced!  Kerry-Ann was sensitive and caring throughout, and obviously very experienced.
 
Reasonably priced, rational and responsive - everything you could ask for in a legal process with a legal firm.  Many thanks to Mona Emera for making the introduction to Kerry-Ann, and to everyone at Emera Smith.  Got my whole family wanting to complete their Wills now!

24 May 2020  Google Nicholas R

An outstanding service provided by a wonderful team, walked me through the process and made sure I understood what was going on. Made a difficult situation much less painful than it could have been. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

26 Nov 2019  Google Melissa B

Ben Smith is fantastic. Easy to talk too, explained everything in detail to me and was always communicating with me either by email, msg or calling.
I can’t thank you all enough for helping me. Thanks again Ben for all your help

26 Nov 2019  Google Kelly F

Over two years ago I met the lovely Mona. I separated from my partner and had no idea of what was involved with property settlement. Meeting Mona I instantly felt comfortable and confident with the process ahead. Mona is honest and has a caring nature and very realistic. I couldn't have done it without her, she was just on my side, always listened, always gave the best and right advise and above all had my families best interests at heart. The outcome I am very very happy with, Mona worked very hard with my case and always took into account keeping costs down. Mona, thank-you from the bottom of my heart for all that you have done for me and my family, you have been there every step of the way, just amazing! Also to thanks Mona's team, thank you very much!

15 Nov 2019  Google Jed R

Ben Smith.... THANK YOU 2 1/2 years ago we sat down and discussed the soap opera my life had become. At the end of our 1st meeting I left with a clear understanding and end goal. The roller coaster process requires a level head and a good team around you, Emera Smith are the team you need.!

19 Sep 2019  Google Nancy L

Mona is someone that you definitely want on your team. Her experience, professionalism and wealth of knowledge made us feel so confident with the entire process that most of the time we actually didn't "feel" the case, therefore we weren't stressed about the situation (as we probably may have been had we chosen a different path). We could not have asked for a better outcome. Mona and her team were so great, we've actually already recommended her to others.

18 Sep 2019  Google Dave D

Following my separation - which was difficult in its own right, the subsequent custody battle was relentless. Throughout this extremely difficult period, Ben Smith not only provided clear and precise legal advice to steer me through to the end point, he importantly cared about my well being and that of my daughter's through the entire process. Qualifications and experience are clearly integral to professional legal advice however complete and effective legal advice only comes when people genuinely care, and therefore I cannot say thank you enough or speak more highly of Ben Smith for every he has done. If you are in need of Family Law advice - please ensure you contact Ben Smith and the team at Emera Smith. Professional, experienced and importantly - genuine people

16 Sep 2019  Google Matthew B

Ben at EmeraSmith is fantastic. A very down to earth approach. Good communication and great advice in the clients best interest. Thanks for your service, assistance and support during the sometimes stressful times. A very calm and responsible approach.!

16 Sep 2019  Google Nikokina S

Five stars - no comment

11 Sep 2019  Google Roby W

Thank you Mona Emera and your team.
I can’t believe I can win the case, once again thank you for your professional and encourage me to get the outstanding result. Very recommended Emera Smith.Gbu

15 Aug 2019  Google Christina M

I highly recommend Mona Emera and her team. They have continued to be supportive and professional throughout my Family Law Matter.

05 Aug 2019  Google Mirnesa J

Mona Emera is one of the most competent,
Professional and noteworthy lawyer I have had the
Pleasure of representing me. Far from ordinary
and very conscientious, she performs her job with
due dilligence and respect. She is high performance lawyer. Highly recommended.

02 Aug 2019  Google Trent C

I have been through the worst exsperience of my life, but these guys were there for me and my son the whole way and still are they are not just Lawyers to me now consider them as family as they are always there for us. We are not just a case to them.

01 Aug 2019  Google Kat H

These guys are phenomenal. I highly recommend Emera Smith. Mona, I can’t thank you enough!

29 Jul 2019  Google Cara K

In my dealings with Mona and Emera Smith, I found them sooo helpful! They made the process a breeze and made it very simplistic to understand.
I HIGHLY recommend Emera Smith to anyone and if I could give them more stars, I would. Thank-you again to Mona and the team :).

29 Jul 2019  Google Jo V

Fantastic family law solicitors - I highly recommend Mona Emera and her team!!!

26 Jul 2019  Google Tim C

I used Emera Smith Family Law to negotiate and finalise parenting and financial agreements. Mona Emera is a smart, supportive and reliable advocate. She has many years’ experience in family law and was able to successfully help me to avoid traps and to dial down the conflict. When needed, Mona was a strong advocate for me and she was very effective in our negotiations with the ‘other side’. I have no hesitation in recommending her services to anyone who needs a sympathetic, experienced and professional lawyer to help them through these difficult times.

22 Jul 2019  Google Anon.

To Mona Emera and her team, when first I met you, I was facing the hardest storm anyone can face. But, your unconditional support was the miracle I needed from heaven. It is not only your understanding, compassion and exceptional professionalism but also you made me feel I matter as a human being not as a case. With your great support I am in a much better place, you pulled me and my kids to the safe shore, you didn’t give up until you made we got all what we need and deserve, you protected our dignity and wellbeing and you put them first as your priority . You were very sensitive to our needs in every possible way. I can’t find words to thank you Mona, I really wish you all the best from all my heart.

19 Jul 2019  Google Sally H

Ben Smith was so professional with heart! He was so understanding, took his time with me, was honest and caring. He made me feel so comfortable.
He was always so polite and friendly . Thank you Ben Smith.

04 Jul 2019  Google Kim H

Im my situation mona emera was lawyer number 4 as th the other three kept handballing me to the next one .
Mona said she will get my family violence separation and divorce done and she has done just that despite my few emotional stressed out moments.
She handled those quite well considering.
Their price is good. Overall very professional, caring, understanding team.
Thank you Jodie and Mona for everything you both did to get me to the end after it got dragged out for over three years.
A combination of other lawyers handballing and the ex talking long to answer.
Sorry for being a emotional grumpy client at times but I didn't mean it as anything that was done or not done by you. It was just the frustrating situation I was in and hormones lol .
I'd highly recommend Mona and her team for any family law that's n needed.
Awesome group of people to deal with.

12 Jun 2019  Google Chris D

Nearly two years ago my world came crashing down and I then met Ben Smith. He alone took on my very complicated case. Having so many highs and lows along the way in my case, Ben rode every bump with me and stuck by my side every step of the way. Ben has never left my side spending countless hours inside and outside of the office striving to get the result I have been longing for many years. I recommend Ben Smith to get the result with his skill, knowledge and extensive experience in family law.

01 Mar 2019  Email JV

If you ever need a strong, professional, intelligent and supportive family law solicitor, call Mona Emera. She was fantastic in helping me deal with a family law matter. She helped me through the entire process by providing very thorough and realistic advice. She remained professional and supportive throughout the entire process. She kept me focused and really looked after me. Mona (and Jodie) thank you so much, I’m incredibly grateful for everything you have done for me.

01 Feb 2019  Email JM

Both Ben and Mona from Emera Smith were very professional and fought hard for me to obtain a fair outcome in my family law case. Their price is very fair and not once did I feel like I was been taking for a ride. Both Mona and Ben are very approachable and easy to talk to. I can honestly say that since working with them both for 8 months or so I hold them both in very high regard and would gladly suggest their services to anyone going through life's challenges with family law. Cheers for all your hard work guys. You both helped me get through one of the hardest times in all my years so far and were always able to keep me positive for the future. I'm sure your firm is on the way to becoming a leader/benchmark for family law in Melbourne.

01 Dec 2018  Email LP

I’m very happy with the outcome. You have done an amazing job. You have kept me on the straight and narrow when I’ve been frustrated and upset. You have kept things black or white and I thank you for your level head.

01 Dec 2018  Email MM

I highly recommend Ben Smith for any family law and property matters. My separation was quite unique and complex, however, I always felt confident that I was in good hands, and assured by Ben’s professionalism, understanding and insight throughout the whole tedious process. Ben was always available to answer any of my questions and concerns with expertise. I was fortunate for a positive outcome, and it was purely due to Ben’s commitment to myself as his client and my case. He still occasionally touches base with myself, this is testament to how genuine and passionate Ben Smith is to receiving positive outcomes for families. He is simply the best!!!

01 Dec 2018  Email KR

During my divorce, Mona's expertise ensured a seamless transition to achieve a mutually beneficial and amicable outcome for myself, my ex wife and our children. Her support during this emotional period was invaluable and I would gladly recommend her services

01 Dec 2018  Email IM

Mona made me feel confident that she would be able to provide the support and advice necessary for my stressful situation and I was extremely happy with the outcome of my case and would not hesitate to refer her services.

01 Nov 2018  Email JV

Mona - expressing my deepest gratitude to you for being my rock during my separation and divorce. From the moment I came to you 18 months ago, so nervous and scared after the end of my 20 year marriage, you gently guided me through the legal process and didn't let me settle for less than I deserved. Your caring and sympathetic nature made me feel at ease and I cannot thank you enough for being there when I needed you. You were firm and strong when it came to crunch time and you helped me grow stronger. I feel like I'm a different person now and I have a friend in you for life. Thank you from the bottom of my heart

01 Nov 2018  Email KS

I would not only highly recommend Mona for all matters related to Family Law, I would insist you give her a call and make an appointment. You will not be disappointed. What can be a highly stressful and confusing time was not the case for me. Mona had me at ease through the process. Her professional nature ensured that all matters were dealt with in an expert way. What I found of most comfort was the way she ensured that I did not have any unrealistic expectations. The primary focus was for a fair outcome for the sake of our children. It was a great comfort having such a highly qualified person who did not seek to take advantage of an emotional time. She kept me focused and did not let my focus wander. Mona ensured as little litigation occurred as it is costly but also extends the whole process. I would not hesitate to recommend her and have already done so on many occasions. Her professional manner and knowledge of family matters means you are in the most capable hands – and you can start to look forward rather than back